Cash or Card?

I feel like having a bit of a rant, I am getting very cross and it seems that nobody can solve this problem easily.

When I go shopping I don´t always take cash with me and rely mainly on my debit card.  I just feel it is safer to carry one or two small card than a bundle of cash around.  However, what is the point of having a bankcard if you can´t use it when you need to?  How embarrassing is it when you find yourself at the checkout only to have the cashier tell you your card has not being accepted and you then have to rummage through your purse to find an alternative.  You can see the folks who are queuing up behind you thinking, “Here we go, trolley overflowing with goods and no cash to pay for it”! I know because I have had the same thoughts when it has happened to others.  Although having now been in the situation I will certainly have thoughts that are more charitable in future.

I have recently received new bankcards, as the previous ones were not being accepted in supermarkets or petrol stations, the two places where they are needed most.  This was not just one specific supermarket; it was rejected in Mercadona, Iceland, Carrefour and similarly in the Shell, Cepsa and Repsol petrol stations.  It wasn´t through lack of funds, or incorrect PIN number as there was no problem with the authorisation, just with the verification.  The stupid thing is that I could go to a cash point and using the same card withdraw cash.  It was also accepted over the internet for reserving plane tickets.  So what is the problem?

Having suffered the embarrassment for several weeks I went to my bank and told them what was happening.  They went through the usual, are you sure you are entering the right PIN number, is it just one particular shop.  After rejecting all ideas, they applied for new cards to be issued.  These arrived last week and off I went to the sales for a bit of retail therapy only to discover I am still in exactly the same situation, both my card and OH cards are rejected at the tills.

The bank is at a loss to explain why this should be and I now find myself in the position of having to cancel my card and have totally new ones issued.  This means visiting the bank, completing new paperwork, handing in both mine and OH’s cards as they relate to a joint account and  getting enough cash from the ATM to last for the period that it could take to get new cards.  I just hope they arrive quickly or it could be even more embarrassing to find myself without cards or CASH!

Ah well I feel better having got that off my chest

This entry was posted in Living on Tenerife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cash or Card?

  1. Richard says:

    change your bank ?

Comments are closed.