Simple and Scrumptious – Summer Pudding

I had to go to 5 Oceanos Frozen Foods this week in Las Chafiras, which is where I buy my dog food.  My girls only like mince, chicken livers, pasta and lots of vegetables, so as I can get it all under one roof apart from the pasta, this is the best place I have found.  Their doggy mince is just €1 a kilo and chicken livers are €1 a pack so the food bill works out very cheap.

I haven´t been going to Oceanos long but already discovered that their lamb chops and legs of lamb are cheaper than any of the supermarkets and they are New Zealand lamb which many of us Brits are used to and like.  I don´t normally buy convenience foods but this week I picked up a pack of two chicken escallops which we had yesterday and they were delicious – admittedly they didn´t look like chicken when I cut them open as they were a strange pinkish orange colour, but they did taste good.

Another of my favourites is their mixed fruit, they have a tropical mix which is lovely served with a blob of vanilla ice cream, they also have a mixed berry that is ideal for making Summer Pudding.

Things to do in Tenerife, recipe Things to do in Tenerife, recipe

Summer pudding is quintessentially English and worth making if you want to impress without any effort.  It requires assembling rather than cooking and exact measuring of ingredients is not necessary, which is just the way I like things.  The size of the pudding depends on the quantity of fruit you have and the size of the bowl you can find to make it in.

Strawberries, raspberries, currants and blackberries all make a good pud.  Mix them to your heart’s content just don’t be stingy.  Wash all the fruit and cut large strawberries into pieces.  Place the fruit in a pan and heat gently until the juices run.  You may want to add a little sugar if you have a sweet tooth, I don´t as I like a bit of tartness and OH adds a spoonful of sugar to his when it is served.

Now line your bowl, using slices of white bread crusts removed.  This is one time where ‘plastic’ ready-sliced supermarket bread can be used.  Put a circle of bread at the bottom and then build up the sides, making sure there are no cracks.  Pour the fruit and juice into the lined pudding basin, place the last slice of bread on top and press down gently to seal the fruit in.  You now need to weight down your pudding – I use a tin of beans and refrigerate overnight.  The only thing that is not negotiable is the time the pudding needs to spend in the fridge – six hours minimum for all the flavours to blend.

Things to do in Tenerife, recipe

When ready to serve, unmold the pudding and cut into slices. Drizzle with thick cream and enjoy.  It’s delicate and refreshing in the summer, luscious even in the depths of winter and beautiful to look at too.

Thank you 5 Oceanos for making life a little easier.

Blog Ping
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simple and Scrumptious – Summer Pudding

  1. John Hill says:

    I may just have to pass on this one LOL

Comments are closed.