The Surrey Arms, Los Cristianos – Tenerife

Most evenings we park the car by the rough ground at the end of Los Cristianos and walk the dogs along the Paseo Maritimo.  It is usually quiet until you get to the built up area so Caña can be let off her lead to sniff to her heart’s content at least until we get to the small fountain and crazy golf.  It will be several months until we feel confident enough to give Marti the same amount of freedom although already she is starting to walk well on her lead and recognising our English accent when we say her name.

We rarely eat in the tourist areas but a few nights ago, I couldn’t be bothered to cook so once we parked the car we crossed the road and walked to the several nice looking restaurants that are just up from the Arona Gran Hotel.  Some of these look quite inviting: Diamonds, Shelley’s, Rumours and the Surrey Arms.  While we were reading the menu of the latter, the owner came out to stroke the dogs so I asked him would it be possible if we wanted to eat to take the dogs onto the covered terrace area.  He had no problem, being a dog lover he said had rescued a K9 dog and dogs were always welcome, so we promised to call back after our walk.

Things to do in Tenerife, restaurants, Surrey Arms

When we got back to the restaurant after about 50 minutes, we were warmly welcomed and asked if the dogs needed a bowl of water.  The staff were very friendly and as well as giving us the menu pointed out that they had a specials menu each evening, and that particular night it was various fish dishes.  I chose the scampi with chips and salad and OH chose the steak.

I didn´t realise how hungry I was until I started eating, but after the first couple of mouthfuls my appetite kicked in.  I devoured my scampi wholeheartedly.  All that I managed to say was Oh God this is good.  I can´t remember the last time I had scampi.

The restaurant was spotlessly clean and although when we arrived, there were only a couple of people eating, the numbers increased during the time we were there.  All were Brits and I presume swallows as several were greeted by first names from the staff.  The single course meal with a Cola light each came to €24 plus a tip and although the meal was thoroughly enjoyable, I do feel it was a little pricey.  At the weekend we had a two course meal consisting of ‘Sunday Roast Dinner’ and for pudding I had Eton Mess and OH had Apple Crumble and Custard plus a couple of drinks each which came to €30 which again although a meal for tourists was in my opinion better value.

If however you are staying in Los Cristianos, don´t have transport to take you to the non-tourist restaurants then certainly eat at the Surrey Arms.  I hope to try a couple of the other restaurants in this strip over the next few weeks, as they look just as nice and hopefully the quality of the food will be as good but prices may be less expensive.

This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.