Tenerife’s winter sales

The winter sales are almost over for another year and I really don´t understand why some folk make such a big deal out of the twice-yearly events we have on the island.  It is probably because many of the windows advertise 50% some even 70% reductions.  Personally, I can´t think of anything worse than sifting through what looks like a load of old junk that has been specifically bought in for the purpose or the stores way to clear unwanted, unsold stock.

Things to do in Tenerife, the sales Things to do in Tenerife, the sales

Gone are the days when you could get a €1000 designer dress for €100 or a €500 TV for €25.  My theory is that the drastic markdowns cannot all be loss leaders so the rest of the year the cost is too high and we are only being charged a more realistic price in the sales.  Having said that, I always check them out once the initial rush of crazy people buying things that they don’t need is over, which is usually well over halfway into the sales period.  The winter sales in Tenerife usually run from 7th January until early March and I never manage to get there before mid February so I miss out on most of the so-called bargains that I call trash.

As per usual, I didn’t get up early, queue or put myself out in any way whatsoever. I was going to the north of the island and stopped off at the Carrefour Commercial Centre in Santa Maria del Mar, which pretty much lived up to my expectation of not finding anything worthwhile.

Things to do in Tenerife, the sales Things to do in Tenerife, the sales

Then off to La Laguna and a mooch around IKEA.  Why is it that when I go there to buy a few bits and pieces I spend a fortune, (only wanted a couple of packets of AA and AAA batteries) wow €55 what a give-away! Then it was over the road for a bite of lunch.  Our favourite cafe/bar is El Teide that does a first-rate selection of tapas along with yummy bocadillos and a good coffee.

Things to do in Tenerife, the sales Things to do in Tenerife, the sales

After looking around the commercial centre and picking up a few groceries in Al Campo, I walked into the store and there it was, calling to me – a beautiful cashmere sweater reduced from over €70 to under €20.  Its silken feel, feather-light weight and beautiful deep purple colour, made this highly desirable, so without a second thought it was into the changing room.  Perfect fit!  This is what the sales should be about, this is what I call a real bargain and just enough incentive to make sure I visit the summer sales when shopkeepers will try to lure me back to snatch up those deeply-discounted sandals, just before the summer ends.

Things to do in Tenerife, the sales Things to do in Tenerife, the sales

This entry was posted in Living on Tenerife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.