Something with a cup of tea

Although there are only two of us these days, I continue to make the quantity of food I did when the family lived at home, it just means I always have a stash of goodies in the freezer should anyone arrive unexpectedly so I can offer them a cuppa and a slice of something.

This happened today and as I know our guest has a sweet tooth I didn´t have to ask more than once if a muffin or a biscuit would go down well with a cup of tea.  Needless to say, being a man both were wanted !!

These little cakes are very quick to make and freeze well even with the topping in place and they only take 10 minutes to defrost.

APPLE AND CINNAMON MUFFINS
9 oz self raising flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
4 oz caster sugar
1 egg
2 oz butter cut into cubes
8 fl oz milk
4 oz apples peeled and cored

Preheat the oven to 200C.  Sieve the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon into a bowl and stir in sugar and butter mix to resemble breadcrumbs.  Add the egg and milk and beat until all the ingredients are mixed together. Then fold in the chopped apples. Be careful not to over mix. 

Spoon the mixture into muffin cases.  Bake for 25 minutes until risen and golden.

Things to do in Tenerife, recipe

Oh my don´t my hands look old - s'pose that's because I am old!!

Things to do in Tenerife, recipe

Whether smooth or crunchy peanut butter make the best cookies I don´t know, I always use crunchy, but what I do know is that the sweet and salty combination of flavours make these biscuits or cookies as our American friends call them irresistible.  I also like to add a smidge of orange peel and juice to give an extra zing.

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES
3 oz soft margarine
2 oz peanut butter
2 oz caster sugar
2 oz demerara sugar
4 oz plain flour
Pinch of salt
Grated peel and juice of 1 orange (optional)

Preheat the oven to 180C
Place all the ingredients into a large bowl and mix until combined. With lightly floured hands, break off evenly sized pieces of the dough and roll into walnut sized balls.

Place the balls onto a baking sheet lined with silicon paper and gently press to flatten slightly.

Things to do in Tenerife, recipe

Place in the oven and bake for ten minutes, or until just turning golden-brown. Transfer to a wire rack and allow to cool for ten minutes, in which time they will crisp up.

Things to do in Tenerife, recipe

These cookies are deliciously simple and are perfect with a cup of tea or coffee.

Blog Ping
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.