Drizzle in Chayofa

Stuck for something sweet to have with a cuppa I thought I would dig through my old recipe files. Last week, Lesley had given me some lemons from her tree to add to my G&T I still had these in the fridge and one was all I needed for a Lemon Drizzle cake.

Things to do in Tenerife, recipe

As you know, I like to cook but it must be easy.  Ordinarily I wouldn´t be bothered grating a lemon, I would just peel it and drop the peel into the mixer, but this cake is so quick and easy it would have taken more time to get the mixer out of the cupboard.  With that in mind I resorted to the old fashioned method then spent an age picking peel out of the tiny holes in the grater.

Forget the beat butter and sugar, then add a little flour and beat again method of cooking, for me it all goes in together and then gets a really good beating, not conventional I know but it seems to work.  So if you are still with me and want to give it a try:-

In a bowl, place 4oz soft margarine and 4oz caster sugar with the grated lemon peel.  Then add 1 egg, 6oz self-raising flour, a pinch of baking powder.  Mix it all together with enough milk to make a fairly soft consistency.

Put into a 2lb cake tin and bake for about an hour until well risen and springy to touch. Because we can be greedy and will continue to eat cake until it is all finished I split the above into two 1lb cake tins and cook for around 30-40 minutes.

Things to do in Tenerife, recipe

While the cake is cooking, mix together 4 tablespoons sugar and 3 tablespoons lemon juice.

As soon as cake comes out of oven, prick the top with a fine skewer and pour the syrup over it. The juice will sink into the cake and the sugar will form a crisp topping. Leave to cool in tin for 10 minutes then transfer to rack to finish cooling

This cake is deliciously moist with a lovely sweet/tart lemon flavour, it will keep well for 3 or 4 days if it lasts that long, but put in the freezer it will keep for a month.

Things to do in Tenerife, recipe

UPDATE : Since posting the above recipe this morning, a friend Lorna has sent me this cake which I think is so simple I just have to try it.  What could be easier no measuring just use the yogurt pot for all the ingredients?

“Yogurt Cake”

1 carton yogurt (Pineapple, hazlenut, or mandarin)
1 carton flora oil,
1 carton castor sugar,
3 cartons SR flour
3 med eggs,

Pour yogurt into mixing bowl and using carton as a measure add the remaining ingredients. Beat for 1 min. Pour into two lined loaf tins. Bake 180 deg for about 25 mins.

As a variation, you can use a plain yogurt and a hand full of raisins or currants; Lorna also recommends using an orange yogurt and if you have it some grated rind.

Blog Ping
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.