Nancy Spain – Los Cristianos

I spent a couple of hours at Nancy Spain’s restaurant in Los Cristianos on Sunday morning, selling books in aid of the K9 animal rescue charity.  I had visited the restaurant a couple of days previously and cleared it with Darren one of the owners who was happy to give us a space and said we could also put up a poster advertising what we were doing.

We arrived and had an excellent spot close to the entrance and I decided to try to encourage a few people to buy the books.  I have never done PR work, always thinking the people who did this for a living were a pain and it was a bit of a doddle handing out leaflets.  After doing it for 2 hours, I now look on them very differently.  I was ignored, snapped at, there were people who scrambled across the rough verge and between the trees rather than pass me.  I was even told ‘We bought from you last week’ – wow, as this was our first week that was clever!

While we were selling our books there were meals coming out of the kitchen.  Every plate that passed by looked and smelt delicious.   Despite having something planned for dinner at home I said to OH, “let’s try it”, so we ordered a Reina Pizza to share at €7.70.  When it arrived, it was thin and very crispy, with lashings of topping including goat’s cheese and bacon.  Now ordinarily I am not a lover of pizza but this was mouth-wateringly delicious.  I later found out that the chef had been making pizza for six years and you could certainly tell, as these were the real McCoy.

pizza from Nancy Spain Los Cristianos Tenerife

While we had our lunch we were entertained by an extremely handsome Michael Buble aka Doug.  He had a great voice and the music was the perfect accompaniment to the food.  I cannot think of a better way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

The staff were outstanding, pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for the waitresses Elaine and Carmen.  Together they make the perfect combination to deal with the diverse clientele of Spanish and English.   Darren and John the owners mingle with the customers without being intrusive, just the odd comment in passing and if you wish, they are happy to stay and chat.

I think this relatively new restaurant has the formula just right.  I wish them every success in the future and I know that we will certainly be back to try out more of their lovely food.

Blog Ping
This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nancy Spain – Los Cristianos

  1. John says:

    We were in Tenerife in July/august and had dinner and drinks in Nancy Spain’s a few times
    It’s fantastic place to eat, the entertaiment is top class especially the Irish dancing.
    I’m a big fish and steak fan but my wife is a strict veggie and also cannot eat anything with wheat in it.
    Not a problem in Nancy Spain’s the chef cooked a special meal every night we returned and I have to say it was fantastic.
    If it was on the menu I would have ordered it instead of the steak which was also excellent and the pepper sauce is to die for.
    We had to book our table 24 hrs in advance due to the special meal, but once you are seated you can stay all night, the prices are also very good for the food and drinks, I had expected the prices to be high due to the quality of the food but the bill was less than €40 for the night.
    They also do pizza’s that are so big they have trouble fitting on the plate , our kids taught they were delicious.
    Top marks 10/10 across the board and will be back next year. :-))

  2. tenerifenell says:

    I hope you managed to sell some of the books for the worthwhile cause. The restaurant sounds good. I just wondered where exactly it is in Los Cristianos.

    • It is directly opposite the Sunday Market. We are now going a couple of times a month for K9 but I have been again since writing the blog and the food is exceptional. They do a good vegetarian range and the Irish Stew is to die for. It is now so popular you have to book on an evening.

Comments are closed.