Some people have all the luck

As I shopped in my local town a few weeks before my holidays everyone was getting excited and talking about El Gordo, the Fat One the world’s biggest lottery. I decided that it was far too early to buy a ticket and I would get one (or part of one) closer to the time of the draw which is 22nd December.

Children string the balls to be used

For anyone who doesn’t know, El Gordo is the oldest and biggest lottery in the world. It is run by the Spanish Government and was first played in 1812. It is estimated that 98% of Spaniards buy a ticket as the odds of winning are roughly one in three and to top that cash prizes are exempt from tax if the winner is a resident of Spain. Because of the huge number of prizes to be won, each draw takes hours and is broadcast live on TV and radio with much pomp and ceremony.

Despite the great odds of winning, I did feel with holidays around the corner the high price of the ticket, even a “decimos”, my chances of winning are about as likely as me becoming a top athlete or running a marathon (anyone who reads this blog regularly knows my views on exercise!!) But despite the argument that someone’s got to win, I totally forgot about it and now the opportunity has passed as I am thousands of miles from home.

So nothing changes, the above is almost an identical story as to what happened to me last year.  My neighbour told me that I could always take part in the El Niño which would be drawn on 6, January but will I remember to buy a ticket for that? Perhaps, if someone can guarantee I win.

And while nothing can guarantee a win, it is worth enjoying this advert for the Gordo which features Montserrat Caballé, Raphael, Marta Sanchez, Niña Pastori and David Bustamante. Now that’s a winner.

Blog Ping

This entry was posted in Living on Tenerife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.