Bread Pudding

Whenever we go to the UK, OH make a beeline to Greggs the bakers and buys a slice of Bread Pudding.

At home one afternoon, he said to me “You know what I really fancy – some bread pudding – do you know how to make it?”  My reply was initially YUK! which is silly because I have never tasted bread pudding but when looking at what Greggs offer it looks thick, stodgy and decidedly grey.  However being a dutiful wife (Pffft…) I found a recipe and set to.  It was very easy but as normal I didn´t measure anything just made it by guesswork and the result according to OH was ‘Bloody Deeelicious!‘ I’ll take his word for it as I still haven’t tasted it.

Ingredients   Serves: 4 

6 slices brown bread broken up leave crusts on
½ pint milk
2 good handfuls of mixed fruit (I used currants, sultanas and mixed peel)
2 teaspoons mixed spice (I used cinnamon as I didn´t have mixed spice!)
1 egg
100g soft margerine
100g caster sugar
2 tablespoons sugar

Method  

Pre-heat oven to 180C and line a cake tin. Bread Pudding is normally served in squares but I only have round tins so our puddings are now round.

Soak the bread in a mixing bowl with the milk for 15 minutes.
Add the rest of the ingredients and squish together by hand.
Put the mixture in the tin

Bake in the middle of the oven for approx 1 hour – As you can see from the picture below I placed my cake tin in a baking tin which was fortunate because some of the milk and sugar leaked out and made a very sticky mess.  Easier to soak and clean the tin than clean the oven.

Take out of the oven and leave in the tin to cool completely.  While this is happening sprinkle a generous amount of granulated sugar over the top.

07-DSC02918 09-DSC02920 10-DSC02921

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bread Pudding

  1. greyjake says:

    I can confirm that it was indeed deeelicious! The hard part is to convince my beloved OH to make more, but as I also get cakes, scones and biscuits I can’t really complain can I?

Comments are closed.