The Benefits of Coconut Oil.

When Jim was in the UK last week and I stayed at home, I woke one morning at 5.00 am. I was brewing coffee before the sun was up and it seemed I was listening to the whole world snoring gently, well at least two girls in my house were and I didn´t want to disturb them.

There is something about being productive at 5.00 am that is foreign to me and probably, because of the ungodly hour and the jobs I managed to get through, by the time breakfast came around, I was starving. Usually I just have freshly squeezed orange juice, a coffee and a slice of toast spread with Marmite but that day I couldn´t distract my taste buds from wanting something sweet.

Generally, I am not a lover of sugar and loath sweeteners; I have never had either in my coffee, believing that replacing one sweetener with another simply keeps the addiction alive. So out came the blender and I made this smoothie which is rich with fruit, creamy and very filling. I used some coconut oil, as I believe it is supposed to give you an energy boost and unlike other oils, it has a mild coconut flavour and scent, which adds a little extra to the smoothie. I can´t honestly say that I found much of a boost to my energy levels but at least I still managed to go for our walk rather than fall back into bed. For anyone trying to find it here I have seen it in Lidl but I got mine from Tesco in the UK where it is very cheap and keeps for ages.

Ingredients – as always very adaptable

175ml Milk (or as I did 1 small yogurt and 100ml milk)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla powder
dash ground nutmeg
3-4 tablespoons rolled oats
6-8 oz. fresh or frozen fruit whatever you have
1 tablespoons coconut oil

I had strawberries but I always keep a pack of frozen mixed berries in the freezer for whenever I get the urge for something that feels decadent. 

Place all ingredients except coconut oil into a blender and blend until smooth while pouring coconut oil into blender in a steady stream.

DSC06245

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.