Tom Jones in Tenerife

Over the past few years, Tenerife has attracted some of the biggest names in show business. I have to say that at one time, if I had heard that Tom Jones was coming to the island I would have shrugged my shoulders and not been terribly impressed.

/ Tom Jones 2015 Tour

/ Tom Jones 2015 Tour

When young I was never a fan of the virulent leather-clad hulk who has sung all types of popular music including syrupy standards like Green Green Grass of Home. However as the years have progressed he stopped dyeing his hair and I watched a BBC4 programme that featured what was then his new ‘Praise & Blame’ album. I was both surprised and bowled over.

His follow up album ‘Spirit in the Room’, is essentially a covers album and includes songs by Paul Simon, Leonard Cohen and Richard Thompson amongst others but like the previous gospel-influenced album it has the depth to match his deep, rich voice. So it has taken a while but I’ve finally become a fan.

I also feel proud that Sir Tom has chosen Tenerife as one of just two concerts taking place this summer in Spain to present his album.  It shows we can pull out all the stops when necessary.

So for one night only on the 28th August at the Recinto Ferial his adoring fans, who have hopefully over the years gained a little decorum, will not throw their knickers on stage, but will sing along to strains of Delilah and perhaps (fingers crossed) also to Tower of Song at this historic event.

For weather & news updates around south Tenerife check Queenies Daily Snippets
This entry was posted in Attractions - Tenerife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.