Homemade Bread Rolls

Having made a fruit loaf and having half of the yeast still in the fridge I  decided to make some bread rolls.

As OH was in town I asked him to drop by Mercadona and pick me up a bag of strong flour, something since living here I have never used it and didn’t know what to look for but as his Spanish is better than mine I told him the sort of thing I would expect to see on the pack.

He was gone ages and I went ahead anyway and made some rolls (those black bits aren’t from the dustpan they are 2 teaspoons of dried mixed herbs!!)  This is how I did it.

Ingredients
1kg strong bread flour (I used plain as still waiting for the strong bread flour to arrive!)
½oz yeast
1 tablespoon sugar
2oz margarine melted
6 tablespoons lukewarm milk or water

Method
Just like the fruit loaf mix the yeast with the sugar, margarine and warm milk or water.  Place the flour in a bowl then add the yeast mixture.

Once it is all combined knead the dough until it becomes smooth and stretchy.  About 8 – 10 minutes.

dsc01963

Then place back in the bowl cover with a cloth and put in a warm place until it doubles in size.  Depending how warm it is this can take anything up to an hour, you can even make it and leave overnight, no harm will come to the bread.

Once it has doubled in size knock back again, divide into even pieces to make your bread rolls then leave to prove once more.

dsc04345

Once they have doubled in size again gently place into a preheated oven. Bake for 20 minutes or until cooked and golden brown. You can tell if they are cooked by tapping the bottom – it should sound hollow

dsc04347 dsc04351

They turned out a treat and will keep for up to a month so we will have one for lunch today and pop the rest in the freezer.

Anyway OH finally comes home hours later and tells me there were ‘hundreds of flours to choose from’ so he picked the one he thought looked about right, as it had pictures on the back of someone making bread.  When I looked I could see the ‘small print’ was in ENGLISH and turns out to be an instant bread mix.  I didn´t know you could get that here, so you learn something new every day, even if sometimes it is something small and is purely by accident. I will certainly give it a try however next time I am at the supermarket I will do my own investigating to see if I can find strong white flour as I am finding making bread is rather therapeutic.

For more on Tenerife including daily weather read Queenie’s Daily Snippets everyone’s favourite Tenerife Blog  
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.