Candied Peel

We have fresh orange juice for breakfast each morning and as regulars know, I hate wasting anything. From the skins, I like to make candied peel. If you chop this small you can use just like the cartons you buy in Iceland in baking. Alternatively, you can coat in sugar and nibble instead of bought sweets and as an extra special treat …. But not too often, dip into dark chocolate.

Image in public domain

I don´t make this everyday but I have a polybag that I place the used skins into and pop into the freezer then I know I have enough to make a batch of candied fruit when I need it. It does take a long time, but that is only in the waiting – the making is very very easy.

Ingredients
6 oranges
4oz sugar
1 tablespoon Golden Syrup
¼ pint water
Directions
I will describe this as if you are using fresh oranges, but as you will have gathered, mine are already cut in half.

Cut tops and bottoms off the orange and then cut into quarters. Peel the skin and pith from the orange (if you just peel and leave the pith it easily scoops away once it has been boiled.)

Put the orange peel in a large saucepan with cold water to cover, and bring to a boil for 20 minutes.

DSC07161Remove the orange peels from the pan and when cool enough to handle just take a teaspoon and scoop out any fruit or pith from the skin.

DSC07162Place the sugar water and syrup in a saucepan and bring to the boil. Add the peel and simmer gently, until they get translucent, about 45 minutes to an hour depending on how thick the skins were originally.

DSC07163Drain the peel, place on a rack to dry 2 to 3 hours. If you can do this in one layer all the better because once dry they will clump together rather than in single pieces.

DSC07166Once the peel is almost dry, toss in sugar and leave overnight to totally dry out before eating, but be warned they can be a bit addictive.

NB: Don´t add the sugar until they are at least tacky if not dry otherwise you will end up with a huge sticky mess.

DSC07168

Now being the frugal type that I am I don´t discard the syrup but keep it in the fridge where it can be used by adding as part of the liquid to a cake, or I am told it is lovely in iced tea – but as I hate tea, I cannot comment.

For more on Tenerife including daily weather read Queenie’s Daily Snippets everyone’s favourite Tenerife Blog  
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Candied Peel

  1. Maria says:

    Oh, my, this article has amazed me for two reasons: one I never thought you could profit from the orange peels this way, it looks yummy and second: a British who hates tea???!!! ha,ha The 1st one I hear of and I have to say I like it. I have a good friend of mine who’s British and has tea all the time (I have tried but I hate it my guts) she can not live without it and she does not stand coffee, not even the smell. “How can you not like the smell of coffee?” I often ask her “are you even human???” We laugh at this and I know it’s silly, but I kind of get comfort in knowing not all British women are nuts about tea and can not leave without thier famous “tea time”
    Thanks for the recipe!

Comments are closed.